Educational handbooks

Bird flu, avian influenza

An innovative initiative by Cirad to circulate information about this disease, one that began in Southeast Asia in 1997 as an animal health problem before spreading to Africa in early 2006.

Produced through the collective efforts of a group of research scientists, this handbook is also available in French: “La grippe aviaire, l’influenza aviaire”.

The White Grub in the Emerald Paradise

In French
A scientific investigation  is carried out on an insect pest that accidentally was introduced onto Réunion island, causing considerable damage, particularly on sugar cane.  The effort to control the white worm population involved a wide range of measures. Among these was biological pest control, which assumed the lead thanks to another outsider introduced onto the island: a fungus fatal to white worms. 

Catarrhal Fever or Bluetongue disease

In French
An innovative initiative by Cirad to circulate information about this vector-borne viral disease.  Traditionally found in Africa among herds of sheep, the disease has ventured onto other continents in recent decades, affecting Corsica since 2000 and ovine and bovine sectors in several European countries since 2006.

Foot and Mouth Disease

An original initiative of CIRAD and thirteen partner institutions intended to share information in a innovative manner on this viral animal disease that is very contagious for cattle, pigs, sheep and goats, and which remains endemic in some one hundred countries.  Written using the narrative point of view technique , this handbook proposes as many entry points into scientific knowledge as there are subjects concerned by the disease: livestock farmers and veterinarians in developed and developing countries, domestic and wild animals, a journalist, an economist, a virus and even a vaccine!

This handbook is also available in French: “La fièvre aphteuse ou la maladie des pieds et de la bouche”.

Peste des petits ruminants

PPR is a highly contagious viral disease affecting domestic small ruminants (goats and sheep), dromedaries, and some wild small ruminants. Long overlooked, the disease is now endemic in most coujntries of Africa, the MIddle East, and Asia. It causes considerable losses in herds and endangers the livelihoods and food security of the most impoverished populations. Despite the existence of a highly effective vaccine, PPR continues to spread geographically, putting disease-free countries in the South ans North at risk of virus incursion and disease emergence.

This handbook is also available in French: “La peste des petits ruminants”.

Cookies de suivi acceptés

Livrets éducatifs

La grippe aviaire, l’influenza aviaire

Une initiative originale du Cirad, pour informer sur ce fléau qui a d’abord été un problème de santé animale dans les pays du Sud-Est asiatique depuis 1997 avant de gagner l’Afrique en début 2006.

Rédigé avec un collectif de chercheurs du Cirad, ce livret est aussi disponible en version anglaise "Bird flu, avian influenza".

Le ver blanc au paradis vert

Une enquête scientifique est menée sur un insecte ravageur introduit accidentellement sur l’île de la Réunion et qui a provoqué beaucoup de dégâts, spécialement sur la canne à sucre. Le contrôle des populations de vers blancs a dû faire appel à toute une panoplie de moyens, parmi lesquels la lutte biologique qui a occupé une place de choix, grâce à un champignon tueur de vers blancs, lui aussi venu d’ailleurs. 

La fièvre catarrhale ovine 

Une initiative originale du CIRAD pour informer sur cette maladie virale à vecteur, souvent rencontrée dans les troupeaux de moutons d'Afrique, ayant fait des incursions sur d'autres continents depuis plusieurs décennies, affectant la Corse depuis l'an 2000 et à partir de 2006 les filières ovines et bovines de plusieurs pays européens.

La fièvre aphteuse

Une initiative originale du CIRAD, accompagnée par treize institutions partenaires pour informer autrement sur cette maladie animale virale très contagieuse, pour les bovins, les porcins, les moutons et les chèvres, et qui reste endémique dans une centaine de pays. Ecrit selon la méthode narrative des points de vue , ce livret propose autant d'entrées dans les savoirs scientifiques et praticiens qu'il y a d'acteurs concernés par la maladie : éleveurs et vétérinaires du Sud et du Nord, animaux domestiques et sauvages, journaliste, économiste, virus et même vaccin !

Ce livret est aussi disponible en anglais "Foot-and-mouth disease".

La peste des petits ruminants

La PPR est une maladie virale hautement contagieuse qui affecte les petits ruminants domestiques (les chèvres et les moutons), le dromadaire et certains petits ruminants sauvages. Elle entraîne des pertes considérables dans les troupeaux et met en danger les moyens d'existence et la sécurité alimentaire des populations les plus pauvres. En dépit de l'existence d'un vaccin très efficace, elle poursuit sa progression géographique et expose les pays du Sud indemnes et les pays du Nord aux risques d'une incursion du virus et d'une émergence de la maladie.

Ce livret est aussi disponible en anglais "Peste des petits ruminants".

erreurMEP... Pas de bloc: MenuPiedPage...

Cookies de suivi acceptés