Knowledge vectors and choice of the narrative form

Compilivres®

A compilivre ® is an enhanced synthesis of information providing a state-of-the-art review of the subject addressed.

The innovative design of the compilivre®, which was created in 1998, is based on the fact that we build knowledge by associating information. This is the operating principle behind hypertext.  For learning purposes, it involves organizing information in such a way that the reader can acquire new knowledge by intuitively exploring the contents of a work, skipping between sections according to his or her needs and level of understanding.    

A compilivre® is structured around seeds of knowledge or blocks of information that can be read independently of each other but which are grouped together according to a logical order so that the reader can rationally reconstruct the contents as s/he goes along.  Depending on the subject, several reading levels are presented to respond to different objectives: satisfying one’s curiosity, confirming basic knowledge, or deepening one’s understanding of a subject.  

We choose to publish the compilivres as paperback books to reach those who may be excluded from other mediums due to limited access to technology.  However, from an educational engineering perspective, their contents also may be shared through digital mediums without rewriting the text as their design has taken into account the specific features of digital formats.  This feature enables the use of innovative teaching approaches in both formal educational settings and in training programs for diverse audiences.   

As state-of-the-art, enhanced information summaries, compilivres also generate educational products such as scientific tales. 

Educational handbooks

The educational handbooks  provide readers in developed and developing countries with information that is relevant, validated, and written in such a way that everyone may understand the contents.  They address current event topics covered widely by the media. 

The objective of the handbook is not to be exhaustive but to present information using an original, attention-catching narrative mode that allows readers to develop an interest in the subject and to better understand the positive and negative aspects of the issue, minimize inappropriate health safety and economic reactions and decisions, and learn about the activities and achievements of CIRAD and its partners. The end goal is to help transfer a scientific culture to taxpaying citizens, directly affected populations in developing countries, and public and private actors, to enable them to better understand hotly debated scientific issues.

This familiar, police investigation narrative style, complete with an enigma, an investigator, and a culprit, helps the general public understand scientific approaches to unknown situations and stimulates reflection on how scientists operate. The reader is drawn into the scientific process and follows it through to the resolution of the enigma: initial questions raised, hypotheses, success, difficulties, and management of actors’ reactions. 

The format achieves multiple objectives: by following the experiences of researchers grappling with real scientific issues, readers acquire direct knowledge while at the same time the image of a research scientist is demystified. Furthermore, the scientific experiences as lived by researchers are preserved and transmitted in a format that can be used for teaching purposes. 

The application of this known literary technique to a scientific subject led to its exploration from the different perspectives of the actors-narrators chosen by the authors. Each narrator speaks in the first person “I”. Each point of view is a story based on scientific knowledge and practices validated by experts on the subject. Their voices refer to educational, cultural, geographic, aesthetic, and emotional landmarks that make sense to readers, allowing them to easily project themselves into the story and to identify with each of the narrators. By the end, readers know as much as the narrators, and effortlessly assimilate complex information regarding a scientific subject that they probably never would have studied spontaneously. The originality of the application of this multi-actor method to a scientific subject is to give the role of narrator to not only people, but also to animals, plants, insects, viruses, bacteria, vaccines…

Scientific tales

From time immemorial, stories have been used to transmit values and knowledge by seducing the imaginations of those who read or listen to them.

In the « Dairies » series, our set of scientific tales , we explore the potential of empathy, with the scientist putting him or herself in the shoes of the animal to tell the animal’s story.  This approach allows the reader to identify with the animal and understand how it goes about its life.  The challenge is to invent a specific vocabulary and integrate potentially complex information without losing the interest of the reader/listener regardless of his or her status or level of education.

This approach contributes to the effective use of scientific and practical knowledge in activities seeking to raise awareness of scientific topics among young readers.  It also furthers individual learning and the collective education of a diversified audience made up of individuals with or without scientific background or training in the subject addressed.  

Educational comic books

Although comic books  once were considered simply to be an entertaining medium for young readers, this is no longer the case today.  Scientists are increasingly adopting this format as a vector to introduce diverse audiences to scientific education within and outside school environments.  Comic books facilitate access to knowledge that otherwise may be perceived as being overly abstract.

We chose to use the concept of illustrated stories.  The scientific message is transmitted through highly realistic drawings and by a text written in French inside each picture box and in English underneath the box. 

Impact studies

A questionnaire is attached to each publication that is meant to be returned to CIRAD-SAVOIRS.  The objective of the questionnaire is to develop a profile of the beneficiaries and learn their impressions of the publication. The questionnaire consists of a combination of multiple choice and open-ended questions, which provides readers the possibility of freely expressing themselves. Once analyzed, the responses are the basis for quantitative and qualitative analyses of the readers’ profiles and feedback, providing valuable information for future projects to draw on.

The impact studies  are published and copies are sent to everyone who responded to the questionnaire, intellectual and financial partners in the project, the authors, and other active correspondents with SAVOIRS.

Cookies de suivi acceptés

Vecteurs de savoirs et choix narratifs

Le compilivre®

Le compilivre est une synthèse à valeur ajoutée qui fait un état de l’art du sujet traité.

Le concept innovant de compilivre® créé en 1998 s’appuie sur le fait que nous construisons nos connaissances par association d’informations. C’est le principe de l’hypertexte. Sous un angle pédagogique, il s’agit d’organiser les informations de telle façon qu’un lecteur puisse explorer intuitivement par butinage son contenu au gré de ses besoins ou de son niveau de savoir lui permettant d’acquérir des connaissances nouvelles.

L’information est structurée en grains de savoirs ou unités d’information qui peuvent être lus indépendamment mais qui ont une proximité sémantique logique pour une reconstruction sensée du contenu par le lecteur au fil de son parcours. Elle peut être présentée selon une architecture en accordéon sous la forme d’un livre qui autorise des rapprochements physiques de pages non contiguës et favorise une lecture non linéaire du contenu. En fonction du sujet, plusieurs niveaux de lecture sont proposés qui répondent à différents besoins : satisfaire une curiosité, confirmer un savoir élémentaire, approfondir un sujet.

Le compilivre est développé sur un support papier pour un partage des savoirs le plus large possible qui évite les situations d’exclusion par non accès aux technologies de l’information. Mais d’un point de vue ingénierie pédagogique, sa conception permet un portage du contenu sur support numérique sans réécriture et la prise en compte des spécificités du numérique afin de faire émerger des formulations pédagogiques nouvelles utilisables dans un cadre éducatif ou de formation par des publics diversifiés.

Les compilivres sont utilisés pour la réalisation de produits dérivés comme les contes scientifiques animaliers. 

Le livret éducatif

Le livret éducatif met à disposition d’un public diversifié du Nord et du Sud des connaissances savantes, validées et reconfigurées pour être comprises par tous, sur des questions d’actualité traitées par les médias en fonction de critères qui leur sont propres. Son objectif n’est pas d’être exhaustif mais de présenter les informations avec un mode narratif original qui les rend attractives permettant au lecteur de s’intéresser à un sujet, de mieux en comprendre les aspects positifs et négatifs, les décisions sanitaires et économiques ainsi que les actions et les résultats du Cirad et de ses partenaires. L’objectif est d’aider au partage d’une culture scientifique en direction du citoyen contribuable, des populations directement concernées des pays du Sud et des acteurs publics et privés et de leur permettre de devenir acteurs dans les débats scientifiques sociétaux.

  • L’enquête scientifique

Le mode narratif de l’enquête policière avec une énigme, un enquêteur et un coupable, familière à tous, aide un public profane à comprendre la démarche du scientifique confronté à une situation inconnue et permet d’initier une réflexion sur la science qui se construit. Le lecteur entre dans l’énigme scientifique et la suit au cours du temps jusqu’à sa résolution : les questionnements face au problème ; les hypothèses ; les succès ; les difficultés ; la gestion des réactions de tous les acteurs impliqués.

Il s’agit à la fois de permettre une acquisition de connaissances, de démystifier l’image du chercheur, de le montrer en prise directe avec une réalité scientifique mais aussi de préserver et de transmettre sous une forme didactique la mémoire validée d’un vécu scientifique.

  •  Les points de vue narratifs

L’application de cette méthode littéraire au traitement d’un sujet scientifique, conduit à le présenter sous autant d’angles de vue qu’il y a d’acteurs-narrateurs choisis par les auteurs. Chacun d’eux s’exprime à la première personne avec le « je ». Chaque point de vue est un récit construit à partir des connaissances scientifiques et praticiennes validées par les experts du sujet. Leur mise en situation fait appel aux repères éducatifs, culturels, géographiques, esthétiques, affectifs qui ont du sens pour le lecteur, lui permettant de se projeter facilement dans l’histoire et de s’identifier à chacun des narrateurs. En fin de lecture, il en sait autant qu’eux et s’est approprié sans effort particulier d’apprentissage des informations parfois complexes sur un sujet scientifique qu’il n’aurait probablement jamais abordé spontanément. L’originalité dans l’application de cette méthode « multi-acteurs » à un sujet scientifique, est de transposer le rôle de narrateur non plus seulement à un personnage mais à un acteur qui peut être un animal, une plante, un insecte, un virus, une bactérie, un vaccin…

Le conte scientifique

De tout temps, le conte a été utilisé pour transmettre des valeurs et des savoirs en séduisant l’imaginaire de celui qui le lit ou qui l’écoute. La forme narrative explorée dans le conte scientifique appelé « journal intime » est l’empathie. Le scientifique se met à la place de l’animal qui se raconte. Son adoption dans une démarche de médiation scientifique permet au lecteur ou à l’auditeur de s’identifier à l’animal et de vivre sa vie. L’enjeu est de permettre l’apprivoisement d’un vocabulaire spécifique et la mémorisation d’un contenu parfois complexe, tout en préservant la facilité et l’intérêt d’un lecteur/auditeur, indépendamment de son statut et de son savoir initial. Cette valorisation pédagogique des savoirs scientifiques et techniques est un soutien pour des actions de sensibilisation aux sciences des jeunes ou pour l’apprentissage individuel et la formation collective d’un public diversifié scientifique ou non, profane ou candide du sujet abordé.

La bande dessinée éducative

La bande dessinée  a longtemps été considérée comme un medium de divertissement destiné aux jeunes. Ce n’est plus le cas aujourd’hui où elle est de plus en plus adoptée par les scientifiques comme un vecteur pédagogique pour l’initiation et l’éducation aux sciences d’un public diversifié dans un environnement scolaire, associatif ou familial, facilitant l’accès à des connaissances qui pourraient être perçues comme abstraites par l’unique biais de l’écrit. C’est le concept de l’histoire illustrée qui a été choisie. Le message scientifique est porté à la fois par les dessins très réalistes et par le texte disposé en récitatif à l’intérieur de chaque vignette pour le français et à l’extérieur pour l’anglais.

L'étude d’impact

Chaque réalisation est accompagnée d’un questionnaire d’accueil à retourner rempli au Cirad-SAVOIRS. Il a pour objet de dresser le profil des bénéficiaires et de recueillir leur ressenti. L’enquête se présente sous la forme de questions fermées avec des choix de réponse prédéfinis et de questions ouvertes, à réponse libre offrant aux lecteurs la possibilité de s’exprimer avec leurs propres expressions. Après analyse, les réponses permettent d’obtenir des appréciations quantitatives et qualitatives sur le profil des lecteurs et leur ressenti et d’en tirer des enseignements pour les projets à venir.

L'étude d’impact  est éditée et envoyée à tous les répondants, aux partenaires intellectuels et financiers du projet, aux auteurs mais également aux autres correspondants actifs de SAVOIRS.

erreurMEP... Pas de bloc: MenuPiedPage...

Cookies de suivi acceptés